November 7, 2018 Minutes

In attendance: Martha Banks, Joan Davis, Millyn Gaaserud, Mary Genco, Abby Knott, Stephanie Maher, Gwen Mogenson, Sue Okie, Deepika Saksena, Clara Sartori, Susan Spain, Arlene Tulacro, Amy Zerbe

Call to order: Clara Sartori called the meeting to order at 9:30AM and introduced Pam Gery, Director of Darien Park and Recreation who updated us on the town’s programming and recreational facility initiatives.

Clara resumed the Business meeting at 10:20AM and called for the Approval of the October Meeting Minutes and then thanked Candidates Night Chair, Theresa Vogt, for her special efforts in planning and facilitating our Fall event. Clara also thanked Voters Guide Chair, Shelly Skoglund, for outstanding work.

Treasurer’s Report: Stephanie Maher announced the Membership renewal/finance drive solicitation is in progress with one new (household) member. Stephanie asked all to submit expenses for the fall event to her.


In the absence of Jean Sweeney and Betsy Shay, Clara reminded us that only about 1/2 of the membership has renewed so far.  She encouraged us to go to and press the Join button on the upper right to pay on line. Or send a check to LWV Darien, PO Box 103, Darien 06820

-$55 Individual Membership, $80 Household Membership

-Don’t forget to consider an additional contribution. Most of our dues revenue is used to pay required State and National League Dues. Your contribution also supports our local league activities.

A discussion followed in which all current members should consider a year round membership drive. Mary Genco suggested we promote ourselves through various means: “Now More Than Ever” – 100 year history, to be discussed at a later date.

Voter Service Activities: 

Theresa Vogt reported that Candidates Night took place Tuesday, Oct 30th in the Town Hall Auditorium, and was broadcast live and re-aired by TV 79. The focus was on State Senate and State House of Representative Candidates.

Theresa thanked the many people who volunteered for Candidates Night:

Timers: Sue Okie, Nina Miller, Cindy Brown, Martha Banks, Stephanie Maher and Laura Mosher, Sandy McDonnell for handling hospitality and Enid Oresman for providing our LWV information table, Question collectors: Jill McCammon and Jean Sweeney, Question sorters: Shelly Skoglund, Tiffany O’Connor, Abby Knott and Stacey Tie, Jim Cameron at TV 79 for filming and broadcasting, Mary Genco and Clara Sartori for value added advice and counseling.

Voters Guide:

Shelly Skoglund reported that unedited question replies were published in Darien Times newspaper and posted on line at on November 1st. Good response from all candidates.

Shelly thanked proof readers: Clara Sartori, Laura Mosher, Tiffany O’Connor. Also thanks to Karla Coe for designing a public information flyer and Deepika Saksena for handling our website content.

Food for Thought: 

Next FFT, Thursday, Nov 15th, 12:30 – 2:00 PM. Hosted by Ann Ferris, 30 Hale Lane.  All members are invited.  Join a freewheeling discussion of a topical news subject. The topic is not announced in advance so no preparation is required. Thanks to Karla Coe for always promoting informative discussions and great fun!

Save the Date:

Holiday Party, Friday, Dec 7th 7:00-9:00 PM,

St Luke’s Community Room

Members and Guests BYOB (alcohol limited to beer and wine by St. Luke’s regulations) and an appetizer or dessert to share. We are grateful to St. Luke’s for their hospitality and reasonable rental cost.

Entertainment by the Darien High School Tudor Singers including a holiday carol sing along. We will provide a donation to the singers.

New Business:

There will be no monthly meeting in December

The next meeting will be on Wednesday, January 9, 2019  

9:10 AM  Coffee and Conversation

9:30 AM   Business Meeting

Darien Historical Society

 Deepika reminded us that we have agreed to discuss and be prepared to vote on the Plastic Bag Initiative at the January 9th meeting.

(See October 3rd Meeting Minutes for information)

The meeting was adjourned at 11:20 AM.

Respectfully submitted,

Susan Spain, Acting Secretary